Monday, November 21, 2005

They Wuz Robbed

I don't normally watch college football and, aside from having a deep personal affection for Joe Paterno, I have no rooting interests whatsoever in the college game. But I did catch the final seconds of the Texas Tech / Oklahoma game, and I've never seen a bigger screw-job in sports.

Down by 4 with under a minute remaining, Texas Tech was driving. They had a 4th and 3 on the Oklahoma 26 and threw a pass that was clearly short--maybe by two feet--of the first down marker. Game over. Even the announcers were wrapping up the broadcast.

But the officials spot the ball over the line--first down!

With 1st and goal on the Oklahoma 5, Tech throws a slant into the right side of the endzone. The receiver bobbles the ball on the sideline and then, while running out of bounds, looses the ball completely. The refs jump to signal a touchdown. It's a ludicrous call and is quickly overturned.

Then, with 3 seconds remaining, Tech hands the ball off to their running back, who is tackled short of the goal line. The officials can't call a touchdown fast enough. What a homejob.

I'm surprised not to see much talk about it this morning. Did anyone else notice this travesty?

8 comments:

Anonymous said...

How 'bout those Eagles? Unrest in the Nest continues!

Anonymous said...

JVL, that non-call pales in comparison to the consistent, annual bias shown against Vanderbilt in SEC conference games.

Three weeks ago, Vandy scores with :50 left to make it 35-34 Florida. They clearly will go for 2 and the win. The end-zone ref calls an excessive celebration penalty, putting Vandy back to the 17 for the PAT attempt. Forced to kick, they make it and force OT where they lose in double OT, 49-42.

This was the worst case of the referee controlling the outcome of a game that I have ever seen.

It makes the SEC look worse that Vandy beat Tennessee in Knoxville last weekend.

Jason O.

Anonymous said...

I should have included that the celebration by the receiver was, to any objective person, minimal at most.

PenskeFile said...

Sorry, but you are WAY off base here. Now keep in mind I am a Texas Tech fan, so I am viewing this through a filtered lens. However, there has been much gnashing of teeth over the game in this part of the country and many views of replays and camera angles.

Here are the essential facts:

(1) The 4th down batted pass that was awarded to Tech with a first down was spotted based on FORWARD PROGRESS.

(2) Most people are basing their conclusion that this call was wrong based on the yellow line on the TV screen. Guess what - the yellow line doesn't mean anything and its far from infallible

(3) Taurean Henderson was laying on top of Glenn January when he stretched the ball over the goal line. Here is a great pic which shows that was not down.

http://www.dailytoreador.com/vimages/shared/vnews/stories/mainf-438124a5e7081.jpg

Bottom line is that no TV angle can replace the system of seven officials on the field who are in position to make the calls.

The refs did the right thing

PenskeFile said...

One other thing. You mention "the refs couldn't call it fast enough" on the touchdown. Actually, the side judge ran in from the sideline to where Henderson was lying (I presume to make sure he still had possession) before he made the call. I was at the stadium and that couple of seconds felt like an eternity. It was not a quick call.

Anonymous said...

Quit your whining and moaning! You are a Republican....not a DEMOCRAT! Now suck it up and act like one and go pay your bookie before Guido and Vinnie the Wrech come after you!

Anonymous said...

Just a quick reply to the Techster.

There is NO forward progress unless the player is in contact with the ground. It's where he comes down.

You forgot to mention the obvious "gifting" of a touchdown on the bobble play. At least they got one replay right.

Henderson was NOT lying on a lineman. And, if you need any more proof, watch the reaction of the cheerleaders behind the line judge while he had his view blocked. They saw it and knew he DID NOT score.

It will be ugly for the Sand Aggies in Norman next year.

Anonymous said...

Replying to the idiot Sooner who posted above, here is the rule from the NCAA:

Forward Progress
ARTICLE 3. a. The most forward point of the ball when declared dead between the end lines shall be the determining point in measuring distance gained or lost by either team during any down. The ball always shall be placed with its length axis parallel to the sideline before measuring
(A.R. 8-2-1-I-IV) (Exception: When an airborne pass receiver of either team completes a catch inbounds after an opponent has driven him backward and the ball is declared dead at the spot of the catch, the forward progress is where the player received the ball) (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 5-1-3-I, III, IV and VI, and A.R. 7-3-6-VI).


WIN WITH CLASS....LOSE WITH CLASS!!!!!!!